The Viking Cosmos

Before their conversion to Christianity the Vikings believed the universe was comprised of nine worlds  supported in the branches of the great world tree, Yggdrasil:

Midgard: the world of humanity

Asgard: the world of the Aesir, a tribe of deities led by Odin who control the forces of nature, also the home of the victorious dead, Valhalla.

Vanaheim: the world of the Vanir, another tribe of gods and goddesses

Jotunheim: the world of the giants

Niflheim: the primordial world of ice

Muspelheim: the primordial world of fire

Alfheim: the world of the elves

Svartalfheim: the world of the dwarves

Hel: the world of the eponymous goddess Hel and the Halls of the Dead.